Former Cricket Stars Sizzle at St. Moritz Ice Cricket in Switzerland

The Ice Cricket Tournament at St. Moritz in Switzerland featured former cricketers from various countries, including India, Pakistan, England and Australia.


Popular veteran players of the international cricket arena, including Indian stars, exhibited their skills on a frozen lake in Switzerland during the St. Moritz Ice Cricket Tournament on Feb. 8 and 9.

The match featured former cricketers from various countries, such as India, Pakistan, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. The event was attended by avid cricket fans who gathered to watch the game and root for their favorite team and players.

Shahid Afridi-led Royals XI won the two-match series 2-0, after defeating the Virender Sehwag-led Diamonds by six wickets, and eight wickets, respectively.

The tournament comprised two teams — Royals and Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds. The Royals team consisted of legendary players from England, Pakistan, South Africa and New Zealand, while Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds comprised iconic players from India, Sri Lanka, Australia and West Indies.

Former cricketers like Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar and Abdul Razzaq from Pakistan, Jacques Kallis and Graeme Smith from South Africa, Nathan McCullum, Grant Elliott from New Zealand, Owais Shah from England, among others, were a part of the Royals Team.

The Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds team, on the other hand, featured former Indian cricketers like Zaheer khan, Ajit Agarkar, Joginder Sharma, Virender Sehwag, and Mohammad Kaif. Sehwag enthralled the audience with a blazing half century on the ice surface and posted updates about his latest achievement on the social media.

“When the magic of winter touches St. Moritz, it gets transformed into something magical. The lake freezes up and becomes a playground for winter sporting events, from Horse racing to Horse Polo and finally Ice Cricket,” said a statement from St. Moritz Ice Cricket.

Ahead of the event, it added that for the first time in cricket history, renowned international cricketers would compete on snow and bring a new form of entertainment to the world of cricket. “The cricket pitch which consists of an artificial turf carpet laid out on the perfectly groomed snow field which will make way for two T20 matches to take place,” the statement said.

It was a two-day and two-night event, where the teams played two Twenty-Twenty matches.

The “Cricket on Ice” event was actually started by the British and has been played for over 25 years on the St. Moritz frozen lake. “The lake freezes into an extremely thick layer of ice which then is covered by the soft falling snow, enabling the lake to withstand more than 200 tons of weight, which makes it the perfect area to construct a pavilion village and grandstands to watch and support the festivities,” the statement said.

St. Moritz, a popular tourist hub, has not only hosted two Winter Olympic Games, but has also become famous for sport events on the St. Moritz frozen lake.

Former Indian cricketer Joginder Sharma also tweeted about the tournament. “There is only one legend. That’s Him. Enjoying Ice Cricket with Legend in st moritz Switzerland,” he said on Twitter.

Pakistani player Shahid Afridi also took to the social media to post updates about the tournament.

“Admiring the beautiful scenes in St. Moritz ahead of the Ice Cricket games with @IceCricketCH. Looking forward to an interesting and exciting tournament #Switzerland,” Afridi tweeted.


Shahid Afridi’s Royals XI: Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Shoaib Akhtar (Pakistan), Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Graeme Smith (South Africa), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Nathan McCullum (New Zealand), Grant Elliott (New Zealand), Monty Panesar (England), Owais Shah (England), Matt Prior (England), Aidan Andrews (Switzerland)

Virender Sehwag’s Diamonds XI: Virender Sehwag (India), Zaheer Khan (India), Mohammad Kaif (India), Ajit Agarkar (India), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Michael Hussey (Australia), Andrew Symonds (Australia), Mithun Manhas (India), Ramesh Powar (India), Rohan Jain (Switzerland)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *